2007 Prize Winners and Citations

This prize was established by IUPAP in 2005 at the time of the General Assembly in Capetown, South Africa .

The purpose of this prize, which consists of 1,000 €, a medal, and a certificate citing the recipient's contributions, is:

To recognize and encourage very promising experimental or theoretical research in nuclear physics, including the advancement of a method, a procedure, a technique, or a device that contributes in a significant way to nuclear physics research. Candidates for the prize must have a maximum of eight years of research experience (excluding career interruptions) following the Ph.D. (or equivalent) degree.

Nominations by one or two nominators (and distinct from the nominee) are open to all experimental and theoretical nuclear physicists. Three prizes will ordinarily be awarded at the time of the tri-annual International Nuclear Physics Conference.

Nominations are due October 1 of the year preceding the International Nuclear Physics Conference and are valid only until then. It will be extremely helpful to the selection committee to receive at least two additional letters supporting the nomination that detail the expected significance of the contributions of the nominee to nuclear physics. It is also appropriate to submit additional materials such as published articles that underline the expected significance of the nominee's contribution to nuclear physics. It is important that the selection committee has the specific information that allows it to determine what the nominee has contributed and how this contribution is expected to impact the field.

Nominations for prizes to be awarded at the next International Nuclear Physics Conference, July 4-9, 2010, in Vancouver, Canada, are to be sent by email by October 1, 2009 to the Chair of the IUPAP Commission of Nuclear Physics (C12): Dan-Olof Riska, Helsinki Institute of Physics, Dan-Olof.Riska@helsinki.fi , subject "IUPAP prize nomination".